Youth Symphony Media

Messiah - A Sacred Oratorio, Handel - conducted by Sir Colin Davis

You need to have the Flash Player installed and a browser with JavaScript support.

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!


Published by Jing in Symphony Education Composer


Handel's beautiful composition of a sacred oratorio - Messiah. (conducted by Colin Davis). Credits are listed at the end of the video... Enjoy.Part IScene 1: Isaiah's prophecy of salvation1. Sinfony (instrumental)2. Comfort ye my people (tenor)3. Ev'ry valley shall be exalted (tenor)4. The glory of the Lord (chorus)Scene 2: The coming judgment5. Thus saith the Lord of hosts(bass)6. But who may abide the day of His coming (alto)7. And he shall purify the sons of Levi (chorus)Scene 3: The prophecy of Christ's birth8. Behold, a virgin shall conceive (alto)9. O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (alto and chorus)10. For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (bass)11. The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light (bass)12. For unto us a child is born (chorus)Scene 4: The annunciation to the shepherds13. Pifa ("pastoral symphony": instrumental)14a. There were shepherds abiding in the fields (soprano)14b. And lo, the angel of the Lord (soprano)15. And the angel said unto them (soprano)16. And suddenly there was with the angel (soprano)17. Glory to God in the highest (chorus)Scene 5: Christ's healing and redemption18. Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (soprano)19. Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened (soprano)20. He shall feed His flock like a shepherd (alto and soprano)21. His yoke is easy (chorus)Part IIScene 1: Christ's Passion22. Behold the Lamb of God (chorus)23. He was despised and rejected of men (alto)24. Surely he has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows (chorus)25. And with his stripes we are healed (chorus)26. All we like sheep have gone astray (chorus)27. All they that see him laugh him to scorn (tenor)28. He trusted in God that he would deliver him (chorus)29. Thy rebuke hath broken his heart (tenor or soprano)30. Behold and see if there be any sorrow (tenor or soprano)Scene 2: Christ's Death and Resurrection31. He was cut off (tenor or soprano)32. But thou didst not leave his soul in hell (tenor or soprano)Scene 3: Christ's Ascension33. Lift up your heads, O ye gates (chorus)Scene 4: Christ's reception in Heaven34. Unto which of the angels (tenor)35. Let all the angels of God worship Him (chorus)Scene 5: The beginnings of Gospel preaching36. Thou art gone up on high (soprano)37. THE LORD GAVE THE WORD (chorus)38. How beautiful are the feet (soprano)39. Their sound is gone out (chorus)Scene 6: The world's rejection of the Gospel40. Why do the nations so furiously rage together (bass)41. Let us break their bonds asunder (chorus)42. He that dwelleth in heaven (tenor)Scene 7: God's ultimate victory43. Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron (tenor)44. Hallelujah (chorus)Part IIIScene 1: The promise of eternal life45. I know that my Redeemer liveth (soprano)46. Since by man came death (chorus)Scene 2: The Day of Judgment47. Behold, I tell you a mystery (bass)48. The trumpet shall sound (bass)Scene 3: The final conquest of sin49. Then shall be brought to pass (alto)50. O death, where is thy sting (alto and tenor)51. But thanks be to God (chorus)52. If God be for us, who can be against us (soprano)Scene 4: The acclamation of the Messiah53. Worthy is the Lamb (chorus)Amen (chorus)

Post your comment


Be the first to comment